Voters in Holt County decide school board races and tax questions

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Add to favorites
  • Email

voteThe Clerk’s office in Holt County, Missouri reports just 17.11% voter turnout in Tuesday’s municipal election (558 ballots cast out of 3,262 eligible voters).

In the Holt R-7 School District voters selected three school board members. Out of five candidates, James Fuhrman led the way with 37 votes, Nicholas Madden and Jane hanson eachgot 35 votes. Timothy Scott Clement got 30 votes and Jerrod Plummer got 21.

In the South Holt R-1 School District, there were four candidates for three seats. The winners were Neal Prussman with 176 votes, John Mackey with 158 votes, and Charles Tiger Parsons with 139 votes. (Patrick Ezzell got 112 votes)

Brian Tubbs (184 votes), Jeff Holstine (151 votes), and Chad Derr (136 votes) won the three seats on the school board in the Mound City R-2 School District. (Also running were Chriss Zembles with 75 votes, and Wendy Tubbs with 66 votes).

Voters in the Mound City Fire District selected Bill Keiffer (73 votes) over John Brook (16 votes).

Four candidates vied for a seat on the Mound City Board of Alderman for the South Ward. Duane Nauman won with 30 votes. Next was Michael P. Davis with 13 votes, followed by Jason A. Biermann with ten votes and Phil Blazer with six votes.

Voters in the South Union Township Spcial Road District approved a tax increase of 35 cents on a hundred dollars of assessed valuation. That tax sunsets in four years. The vote count was nine “yes” to one “no.”

In the City of Maitland, voters were asked to continue a 24 cent tax levy for street maintenance, improvements and repairs for another four years. There were 31 “yes” votes and five “no” votes.

In The Village of Big Lake, renewal of a 30 cent levy for pumping and dredging expenses passed by a ten vote to one margin.